Casting: Ilona Andrews’ “Kate Daniels” Part 3

After this post I’m going to pause on the Kate Daniels casting for a bit. It’s just a fun time waster anyway.

My next casting attempt is Mahon. Now, I always pictured Michael Clarke Duncan as Mahon and that’s whose voice I hear when I read. But in looking for a good picture of him for this part I couldn’t quite find it. So I decided to go with something closer to Mahon’s description in the books. That’s always stumped me.

And then I remembered Jeff Bridges. He’s not as huge as Mahon is described, but he does make it to 6’1″ and that’s taller than a lot of Hollywooders. And he’s just a fantastic actor. Now that I’m thinking about it even more, I can easily see him playing this part.

So: Mahon

He looks like he’s about to say something that’s going to piss off Curran or George. It’s perfect!

Mahon is married to Martha. She’s described a little bit in the books, but I hadn’t really put much thought into her character until the last book where she and Kate have a very nice scene. She’s African American, which is great because — since I always pictured Michael Clarke Duncan, I then pictured George as being African American. So it all works out even though I’m no longer picturing the late, great MCD.

I looked and looked for an actress that would work. Martha is strong. Physically, as well as emotionally. She’s married to a cranky old Kodiak and she’s a shifter herself. She hasn’t been in the books very much, but she’s made an impression every time she’s shown up. I finally settled on Angela Bassett. She doesn’t look it, but she’s 58 years old, which puts her at a very good age to be George’s mother and Curran’s “adopted” mom. And Angela Bassett has always kicked ass.

So: Martha

 

That wraps up the casting frenzy for now. I’m sure I’ll come back to it. For instance, I’m not sold on Rafael. And there are many other characters in the books I’ve yet to even think about casting-wise. It’s a fun exercise in any case.

Sweet Dreams!  photo d29c1cc4-c064-4c77-a13d-c4eb4bb55603_zpsxyqt7mxa.jpg

Leave a Reply

